North Scott Lady Lancers WIN!

Congrats to the North Scott Lady Lancers---Iowa State HS Champs!

After falling short in two previous trips to the state finals, North Scott finally celebrated a championship, even if it did take an extra four minutes. All-tournament captain Karli Rucker scored 24 points and eighth-ranked North Scott beat No. 1 Marion 52-40 in overtime to win the Class 4A title. North Scott rallied from six points down in the fourth quarter, then outscored Marion 13-1 in overtime to win going away. It was just the second overtime in a five-player championship game. The five-player tournament began in 1985 and North Scott had two runner-up finishes in those early years, in 1986 and 1987. The Lancers did not make the finals again until this year. Rucker's younger sister, Rylie, added nine points for North Scott, while two freshmen -- Presley Case and Grace Boffeli -- each scored seven. Boffeli also grabbed 10 rebounds, including seven on the offensive end. North Scott finished with 20 offensive rebounds in all, leading to a 13-4 edge in second-chance points. The Lancers also collected 22 points off turnovers. Mia Laube led Marion with 11 points and Chloe Rice scored nine. North Scott rallied after trailing 33-27 in the first minute of the fourth quarter. Boffeli's two free throws gave the Lancers a 38-37 lead and Karli Rucker hit one of two to make it 39-37 with 37.6 seconds remaining. Laube was fouled on a putback attempt with 17.4 seconds left and made both free throws to tie it and Kayba Laube stole the ball before North Scott could get a final shot, resulting in overtime.  Boffeli scored inside to put North Scott up 41-39 and they led the rest of the way. Karli Rucker flipped in a layup on a drive down the left side of the lane for a 45-40 lead and the Lancers finished off their first title with free throws, making seven of eight. North Scott finishes 21-5, with four of those losses to Class 5A schools. Marion finishes 24-2. Rylie Rucker joined her sister on the all-tournament team along with Rice, Kayba Laube, Kiara Bradley of Pella and Lexi Noonan of Cedar Rapids Xavier.